You’ll have to toughen up if you want to be a capitalist

I’ve been ill over the entire Christmas and new year period so the last couple of weeks have been pretty quiet in blogland. I’m usually in the rudest of rude health but the stress I’ve been under is obviously manifesting itself physically. I’ve not felt like eating much over the festive season but have strangely managed to polish off several kilos of Celebrations all by myself.

I was greeted on the last day of 2010 by a letter from the council. In bold capitals it states:

NOTIFICATION OF TERMINATION OF EMPLOYMENT BY REASON OF REDUNDANCY.

Happy new year to me. I’d almost managed to forget about it in a fug of cough medication and seasonal TV.

Mr R is more relaxed about my impending redundancy than me. Having worked in the private sector all his working life, he’s been made redundant several times. Once he was told to clear his desk and leave immediately so the whole idea of waiting almost a year to be let go is a strange concept to him.

It’s weird isn’t it, going into work every day and doing the best job you can in a cheery manner knowing that your employers are wringing out every last drop of goodwill before slamming the door on your career. Only in the public sector.

I kind of know what I will be doing after March so now is the time to get things moving properly, the end is in sight.

I was being a wimp over something or other last week when Mr R said, ‘You’re going to have to toughen up if you want to be a capitalist.’

‘But I don’t want to be a capitalist,’ I whinged back at him.

‘I’m afraid you’ve got no choice,’ he said.

Better get cracking then.

6 Responses to You’ll have to toughen up if you want to be a capitalist

  1. Tim says:

    Hope you’re feeling better now – and a Happy New Year!

    Got to love the sensitivity of the timing of your letter. Maybe it was delayed by the weather and was actually meant to arrive before Xmas? 🙂

    I have to admit I really don’t understand the practice of giving people a year before letting them go. I appreciate it allows time for preparation, but it seems more like Chinese water torture to me. When I was made redundant previously, I was given three months’ notice, and after 6 weeks I had finished or handed over everything, found myself a new job – urgency is the mother of action! – and negotiated an accelerated leaving date. The thought of serving three full months during which I would have to commute from Wycombe to White City and face the coward of a boss who didn’t have the good grace to hold a single consultation meeting with me was really too much to bear.

    • citizenr says:

      Yes, it’s a really strange situation and I’m sure that’s why I’ve not been in the best health recently!I agree with your point about urgency being the mother of action- I’m struggling with apathy. When the alarm went off this morning I almost turned over and went back to sleep.

  2. guerrillamum says:

    Happy New Year to you Citizenr!

    We too have been hit with ‘flu over the festive season, and are only now getting over it. I can totally relate to your relationship with the Celebrations, only in my case it was Quality Street…

    Glad to hear you have sorted out what to do after March, and am totally not surprised by the timing of your redundancy letter.

    Here’s to a better 2011?

    Ellen

  3. J.G.Harston says:

    Python voice: You lucky lucky bugger! I was given 16 months’ notice I was losing my job. *And* I had to help orient my replacement in the run up.

    Back to being serious, all the best for the future.

Leave a Reply

