My big fat portfolio career part two

I’ve just spent the last two days on a course run by FPM called How To Be a Consultant and it did what it said on the tin. On day one we found out about what being a consultant means in terms of a career choice, what sort of work is out there and what our individual USP might be. I think I know my USP (no sniggering at the back)  but it’s another skill putting that down on paper. On day two we did work around being self-employed, tax, VAT and finances. All tricky stuff but we were an attentive audience becuase we’d never had to fill in a tax return.

 Unlike many courses I go on that are a three line whip this really did answer my questions and more importantly, posed further questions that I need to answer for myself. Best of all there were some really interesting people there and it was a good opportunity for networking.

 So I think a new self-employed career might just work. 

 But I won’t delete the Traffic order Maker application form yet.

Just in case.   

2 Responses to My big fat portfolio career part two

  1. J.G.Harston says:

    I’ve just spent the day trekking into the Aberdeen job centre (I live in the countryside) for my six-month job-seeker’s review.
    So, your last job as a Councillor for XXXX City Council, what department was that in?
    Well… all of them.
    After applying for more than 200 jobs in the last six months and having absolutely no response from anybody (including shelf-stacking at Tesco!), I am convinced that elected public office completely and utterly destroys any future employment prospects. No wonder there’s such a dearth of young, non-rich, non-pensioner, non-corrupt people willing to stand for local elections.

    I look forward to Ian Duncan-Smith fulfilling his promise to make work pay by forcing somebody to employ me.

  2. citizenr says:

    I really hope you find something very soon. I always thought that having ‘councillor’ on your CV would have been a help rather than a hindrance, it’s a shame it’s not.

Leave a Reply

