I was a public sector worker

 I don’t save lives or rescue people from burning buildings. I don’t sweep your streets or hand out parking tickets. I don’t work in your local library and I don’t teach your children. Any more.

 I’m a local authority education adviser.

 What’s one of them?

 … is the question I usually get asked.

 Think of it this way. Primary school teachers, for example, have to teach ten different subjects to their classes and like anyone else, sometimes they need some support with the tricky stuff. I go into schools and help teachers. I run staff meetings and training sessions. I meet with people who also work in and with schools and I help them understand what teachers need. I speak to governors and parents and I help them understand what’s happening in their school and how to support their children. I work with primary, secondary, special and pupil referral units and I love my job.

 But fings ain’t what they used to be in the public sector and not being the person who saves your life, rescues your cat or empties your bins, I’m first against the public spending cut wall.

  ‘Hi,’ says the local strategic programme lead as I answer my mobile phone (we love a complicated job title in the public sector. It makes us feel important), ‘where are you?’

 ‘In the office,’ I answer. Of course I’m in the bloody office.

 ‘Sitting down?’ she trills and I know immediately it’s bad news. I’m not being made redundant, no, no, no, it’s just that funding has run out and not being the person who sweeps your street or hands out ASBOs I’m not indispensable.

 I’ll be joining the mass ranks of the unemployed come the end of the financial year. So as the government fiddles while England burns, I shall the record the highs and lows of what it means to be a member of that dying breed.

 The public sector worker.

Patrick Butler of The Guardian says:

‘The emerging genre of “post-public sector” blogs by public servants who have either lost their job in the cuts, or are about to. This one, I was a Public Sector Worker, looks highly promising.’

http://www.guardian.co.uk/society/2010/sep/15/society-daily

4 Responses to I was a public sector worker

  1. Kevin CW says:

    Well. What do I say.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. Sorry to hear you job is coming to an end. As someone in a similar role, I share your fear of cuts and sincerely hope I don’t succumb to a similar fate later this year.

    I hope you continue to use this blog to commentate on the changes we’re seeing at the moment. It’s important that people remember that th epublic sector is far more than doctors, nurses and police.

    Are you planning to set up on your own?

  2. Pingback: Society daily: 15.09.10 | United Kingdom Society News

  3. Pingback: The Sex Education Show is back: episode one « I was a public sector worker

Leave a Reply

